One Lump or Two?

I love scented candles and I think it’s safe to say I’ve got an unhealthy addiction to these and reed diffusers. They make my home smell amazing and different scents remind me of certain things or times spent with people.

A beautiful daffodil scented candle reminds me of a wine evening spent with my sister Zoe. It was summer and we’d just bought a new patio set so Zoe and I sat in the garden and enjoyed it (and a few glasses of wine). This was until Zoe smelt the rain – obviously a special talent on her behalf, and I insisted on folding all the furniture up and taking it inside just before a thunderous downpour. In my defense, it was new and I couldn’t leave it to get wet for the first time!

Another sandalwood and amber candle brings back memories of the first Christmas we celebrated in our house. Ed and I spent the whole Christmas together – something we hadn’t done in our 8 years as a couple! The candle was huge and an early present to myself (well why not) and it lasted throughout the whole festive season.

It would be nice to think that someone is reminded of something when they burn one of my candles.

So what scent to use in my new teacup candles? A recent present from Ed sorted this problem out, a gorgeous orchid with a delicate but sweet perfume. I moved Bumbleblue into the kitchen to start creating the candles…

I think the secret to making candles (and I’m by no means an expert) is ‘slowly does it’. Adding the wax slowly and in parts seems to create a more even candle in the end but this obviously requires a little patience! While the wax cooled, I got on with painting the wooden heart tags to add a touch of colour to the cups.

Tied together with string the teacups are finished off with a brown label and a little hand painted wooden heart tag. This turns them into a proper present and a great gift for someone who is as crazy about candles as I am!

6 thoughts on “One Lump or Two?

  1. This is a lovely idea for a candle holder, the tags are very cute. My sister uses this pourable silicon rubber in the lab to make casts of rocks, but it would be ideal for making free standing candles. First you make the mold – you can use anything and then once it is set, take out whatever you moulded and pour in the wax. Here is a link to the site http://www.smooth-on.com/ it is US based, but I am sure they have uk stockists – my sister gets it in Germany with no problems. There are some good how to videos on the site as well.

    • Thanks for that! I will be having a look into it – free standing candles would be a great and maybe cheaper alternative! I always find when I’ve made a product and I’m happy with it, I’ve used that many components, it’s actually quite expensive! Thanks again for the info x

Leave a Reply

