Oats So Yummy

After being busy with my day job and orders from the website, I put aside an afternoon to have a bit of time off. It’s great to be busy, but sometimes it’s nice to be selfish with my time.

I decided to give some baking a go and this time, it was my Mums flapjack recipe. When I think of flapjack, I picture yummy, golden, oaty loveliness. A little bit gooey with crunch round the edge and a perfect accompaniment to a cup of tea! Also a perfect excuse to use my new scales.

As I was melting the butter, I started to think about where the idea for flapjack first came from (like you do) Was it an accidental spillage of someones porridge into a cake mix?

Curiosity always gets the better of me and I reached for the laptop. Would you believe it actually originated in Britain, and the name flapjack was being used as early as the 17th Century but at that time, it described something similar to an apple tart. It wasn’t until around 1935 that the humble flapjack took the rolled oats form we know today.

So there you go! Back to my melting butter and the rest of the ingredients…

 

12 oz Butter

16 oz Oats

1 Pinch of Salt

6 oz Sugar

6 tsp Golden Syrup

First melt the butter slowly in a pan. Once it’s all melted, take it off the heat and stir in the sugar and syrup.

Stir in the salt and then the oats last. Mix this all well.

Pour onto your baking tray – not too thin, we want a bit of gooey in the middle!

Put into a preheated oven, gas mark 4 for around 30 – 35 minutes or until golden.

Absolutely delicious and simple enough to make even myself feel like a bit of a chef.

Happy baking!

 

One thought on “Oats So Yummy

Leave a Reply

