Car Boot Treasures

It really felt like Spring was on it’s way the other weekend. The clouds and chill in the air moved to one side and the sun tiptoed into their place.

I joined the early bird on Sunday and went along to a car boot sale. I was a bit bleary-eyed but wandering around in the sun peering at people’s offerings, I soon started to wake up. I love trips to antique markets and shops, but the humble car boot will always be a special treat. Traders in antique shops have usually selected the items they hold and are looking to make a profit on whatever piece you buy from them – after all it’s their business. Car booters offerings are a random mix of old and used or new and un-touched bits and bobs. You never really know what, if anything you’re going to find.

I did a quick lap but was distracted by the tea van. On the second lap I found some fabulous little treasures. One actually isn’t that small – It’s a gorgeous wooden frame perfect to be turned into a chalkboard for our kitchen. I didn’t realise just how big it was until I got it back to the car. My little KA did very well to accommodate it!

A pair of wooden candle sticks and this gorgeous bedside table and I came away quite pleased with myself.

 

 

I’m waiting for a nice day to get on with the table, but I couldn’t wait to get the candle sticks sanded down!

 

One thought on “Car Boot Treasures

  1. Oh I love milling around car boots- you never know what you’ll find!! My best buy still has to be a 3/4 length real leather fitted ladies jacket for £2!!! Oh and the jeans I got which turned out to have £5.50 in the pocket, thus reimbursing me and paying me for them!!

    I just did a blog on loft treasures at http://www.cheshirecatcrafts.blogspot.com

    I’ll be heading to the car boots soon, tempted now this weekend if there’s one….but I really need to get on making things!!

Leave a Reply

