A Domestic Goddess Life For Me

As I’ve mentioned in previous blogs, I’m not someone who could be described as a domestic goddess. I imagine such a person to have an insanely tidy house at all times, to have sparkling windows all year round and who has always just baked something. Rarely a day goes by where there isn’t a little pile of random objects – usually keys, bills and receipts, on our coffee table (and if we have people round, they’re underneath!)

I try to keep on top of cleaning and aim to run the hoover round regularly. We have dark carpets in our house which show up any tiny molecule of dust or fluff. Being the savvy house proud genius that I am, I put down gorgeous huge cream rugs that instantly lighten and lift the rooms and also hide some of the fluff. They also instantly look grubby when you waltz across them in your shoes once.

I’m a bit of a clean freak and at my happiest when my house has been scrubbed from top to bottom and I can sit with a glass of wine and admire my handywork (and elbow-grease!) What is it some people say about everything having its place? Ok, so I’m not that bad but when you get in from a busy day, there’s nothing more frustrating than having to tidy up before you can sit down.

My work room is the one place I make a huge effort to keep tidy all the time. It makes me smile as my mum always used to say to me;

“If you tidy as you go, you won’t have a big mess to tidy at the end.”

Twenty-odd years later and I’m still listening to this piece of advice! My desk could potentially look as though a bomb has hit it – there’s always tins of paint, string, buttons and other crafty bits dotted around.

Not too messy today – but the mug is dangerously empty!

Knowing of my worries about ‘keeping house’ my sister bought me a book for my birthday which really hits the nail on the head. Domestic Sluttery by Sian Meades is a light-hearted book based on a blog and it’s for ‘…anyone who aspires to be a domestic goddess without having to work hard at it…’

She looks at general home life and food etc. and helps you to realise that not everything has to be perfect. Life is too busy to be worrying about the state of your house, so there are little shortcuts to perfection and some tips with storage and display. In its own words ‘…this book won’t magically transform your life…’ but I had a smile on my face from the first page and have come away with some fab ideas. definitely worth a read!

Leave a Reply

