Vintage, Shabby and indeed chic

Working with wood, it’s incredibly handy having a joiner Dad. He’s on hand for advice and he’s constantly drilling holes for me!

I remember when I was little, being sat at the end of our garden watching Dad working in his workshop. To make me feel like I was helping, I would have a block of wood from his offcuts box and a pile of nails to hammer into it. I started young!

My parents have got used to me popping over for a cup of tea, complete with a box full of new wooden bits that all need holes of various sizes drilling into them. Many a good idea has also come from these tea visits and my latest product is no exception. Vintage wooden signs.

I love old signs, packaging and typography and my house is literally bursting – from blown up old wine labels in the kitchen to place name signs in the bathroom.

Dad could source me lengths of wood with a rough unfinished surface, perfect for creating that ‘its been around forever’ look. The first sign I painted cheekily landed back into Dad’s hands as a Christmas present! Finally I’ve got round to painting more.

Hopefully the finished product reflects all the work and care that has gone into it. Now all it needs is a loving home!

 

Leave a Reply

