Creating, Painting and Photographing

As this title suggests, I’ve been busy!

Since starting my blog it’s been nice for me to keep a record of the stages and processes my ideas go through to end up as a finished product. I always find it interesting to see how other people work and how they create their things – especially when it’s something I can’t do.

I’ve got huge respect for people who can sew or knit up a masterpiece. My textiles teacher at school had more patience than we gave her credit for. Honestly, what that poor woman had to work with, it’s nothing short of a miracle that I managed to produce a cushion at all! I can do the basics – by basics I mean I can just about sew a button back on and mend small holes.

When it comes to knitting, it’s a slightly different story. I really enjoy it! My Gran was the Queen of the knitting needles. She would sit down in the morning with some wool, and by the afternoon she would be surrounded by an army of knitted creations. I’ve got some really happy memories of sitting with her and being taught how to knit. I managed a whole scarf and was so chuffed with myself at the time, except I couldn’t start myself off or turn round. Every time I got to the end of a row, the knitting was flung onto Gran for her to turn me round. Again, this is a skill that my mum has mastered, and my genes just wont allow me to grasp. These gorgeous cushions were hand knitted by mum – I absolutely love them!

I’m going to stick to what I know – painting! None of this ‘knit one, pearl one’ to confuse me. My new decorations are all coming along…

And they will soon be making their way into my Folksy shop. I love the bunting that I’ve just finished, and think it will look gorgeous along someones fireplace at Christmas.

So it’s back to the Bumbleblue desk. I’ve got a two day craft fair at the weekend so I’m hoping my table will be nice and full.

Leave a Reply

