First Autumn Fair

My first craft fair of the season was at the weekend. I haven’t done one for a while and was a little bit out of the swing of it all.

I’d been shopping for new bits and bobs and these were all ready in their new baskets (bit of an organisation freak so everything has to have its place!) As it’s only the beginning of October, I didn’t want to scare people too much with the thought of Christmas, but I had to take a few of my new festive bits along.

As you can see, Buddy was a big help with the photographs…

I made a big effort with my table display for this fair. It really helps to get you noticed in a room full of tables. I got some gorgeous pine cones all the way from bonny Scotland (Bud hasn’t quite munched through them all) and some new fabric and baskets for my table top. It was definately worth investing a bit on these little details, as I got some really lovely comments from my customers.

Another new product that I was excited about were my new welcome signs. It’s quite difficult sometimes to make and paint what’s in your head at a price that’s reasonable. By spending hours and hours just wandering around on the internet, I’ve found some great little suppliers that keep their prices low so I can pass this on to the customer. Although a bit fiddly to paint, they look fab when finished (even if I do say so myself!)…

All in all, it was a nice but quiet day at the fair. The morning was promising, but then the great British weather had other ideas and when the rain started, the customers left.

Plenty more booked so fingers crossed for the next one!

2 thoughts on “First Autumn Fair

  1. Hi, saw you on the Folksy Forum under the Blog posts. Your stall looks amazing, very welcoming and well displayed. I have found so far this year that Craft Fairs are very hit and miss and there seems to be a general lethargy with buyers, they seem to be saving there money, hopefully in readiness for the Christmas rush. Good luck Lx

Leave a Reply

